Why the Glorification of the Sugar Baby is Bothersome

I can’t tell if it makes me a good or bad feminist.

Vanessa Torre
4 min readAug 12, 2020
Photo by Andrea Piacquadio via Pexels

There are times when I see, hear, or read something and have a gut reaction that I have to check. The hair on the back of my neck stands up and I wonder how much of my reaction is justified and how much is based on a belief system I once held as true but no longer do.

I question everything. The difficulty is that I have to stop and figure out how I genuinely feel versus how “my side” should feel. As a Democrat, there are ideas I should support, but I don’t. As a feminist, there are concepts I should positively embrace, but I don’t. I want to stand on my own beliefs rather than ones dictated to me.

Right now, there is an inner war waging in my head over the glorification of the Sugar Baby. As a feminist, I struggle with it. I feel like I should support all women, but I can’t. Not with this.

The idea of a Sugar Baby/Sugar Daddy relationship certainly isn’t anything new. It is, however, far more present in the media than it has ever been, especially from the Sugar Baby side.

There are Instagram accounts showing pictures of lavish gifts and trips, entire blogs and podcasts dedicated to how to be one, a website on which to find one, and a litany of articles detailing how…

--

--

Vanessa Torre

Top 10 feminist writer. Writing, coaching, and relentlessly hyping women in midilfe. linktr.ee/Vanessaltorre Email: vanessa@vanessatorre.com